Leave a comment

Myths Of Leading From The Middle Of An Organization

I have been reflecting on what have been the most influential books I have read over the past five or so years.  360 Degree Leader by John Maxwell rises to the top.  In it Maxwell  details seven myths of leading from the middle of an organization.  There are many times that I have  felt I had  little control on what happened in my organization.  Yet, all the time I had tremendous influence.  Isn’t that what leadership really is – influence, not control?

Here are the seven myths of leading from the middle that John Maxwell debunks in his book.

 

  1. The Position Myth: “I can’t lead if I am not at the top.”
  2. The Destination Myth: “When I get to the top, then I’ll learn to lead.”
  3. The Influence Myth: “If I were on top, then people would follow me.”
  4. The Inexperience Myth: “When I get to the top, I’ll no longer be limited.”
  5. The Potential Myth: “I can’t reach my potential if I’m not the top leader.”
  6. The All-or-Nothing Myth: “If I can’t get to the top, then I will not try to lead.”

Now Myth #1 was enough for me.  It made me realize, I wasn’t just a manager, but a leader.  At least I wanted to be a leader.  But I was blaming my position for my lack of leadership.  So, I took the challenge and began to learn how to lead down, across and up.  There was a subtle shift in my attitude and outlook that made me more positive about the opportunities I had to lead others.

If you can relate to what I am saying or any of the myths, you really should get this book.   The workbook is the best buy as far as I’m concerned because it gives a more succinct version of the book content and has excellent questions to prompt reflection and action.

Which myth do you find yourself buying into?

Feel free to share your comments.

By the way – I have been thinking about starting a telephone coaching group based on this book.  If you would be at all interested, just zip me off an email – patti.larson(at)kc.surewest.net.  Just curious, what the interest level would be.

Website           Unleash The Power of Vision Webinar Information

Leave a comment