10 Comments

Walk Slowly Through The Halls

I have always admired my colleagues that know how to “walk slowly through the halls”.  They have a gift of connecting with people.  They do not make you feel like they are noticing the clock or wanting to move on to something more important.  They take a little extra time before and after meetings to make personal connections.  They look up in a crowd and pause to have conversations.

At the church where I most recently served on staff, the layout of the facility made walking slowly through the crowds very difficult.  On the busiest day of our work week, Sunday, I had responsibilities at opposite ends of our fairly large building.  One Sunday I even wore a pedometer and clocked 1.75 miles of walking back and forth.

People who know me would probably not describe me as walking slowly through the halls.  Most of the time I look more like a  “woman with a mission”.  I do not say this because I think it is a good thing.  It ended up being a hindrance.  In a crowd,  ye contact meant I would be stopped for conversation multiple times.  A few times I even found myself taking a back hallway around the sanctuary a few times just to avoid the crowd and get to the other end of the building quickly.  I was really good at short cuts, but I was not good at walking slowing THROUGH the crowd.

Fast forward to today.  We have a new administrator at the office where I work part-time as Volunteer Coordinator, Hospice Advantage.  Brenda has cultivated the gift of connecting with each of the individuals on our staff.  It may come natural, or it may be intentionally planned.  It may be some of both.  Either way, what matters is that she does it. Brenda “walks slowly through the halls”.

Brenda has won me over.   She is real, personal and knowledgeable at what she does.  She backs up her strong connecting skills with concrete feedback and decisive action.  It is a powerful combination. Brenda is building trusting relationships and is investing in us.  The result is more positive attitudes, people being less guarded and more willing to support others.  We are poised to move forward together.

PLEASE SHARE A COMMENT:

Who do you know that is good at “walking slowly through the halls”?  When does it happen and where?
Have you personally had a “walk slowly through the halls” epiphany?  Share it.

For more strategies on how to walk slowly through the halls, read 360 Degree Leader, by John Maxwell.

Sequoia Life Coaching

Helping Christian Leaders Find Deep Satisfaction

Living Out their Purpose and Priorities

10 comments on “Walk Slowly Through The Halls

  1. In order to WALK you need the courage to stand. To WALK SLOWLY you need to take the time to focus on your pace. GOING THROUGH THE HALLS indicates that a choice has been made on a direction to go. So, tomorrow I will take courage to focus on slowing down while traveling the path I have chosen.

    Joy in Jesus
    SueP>

  2. The kids ministry director at my former church was amazing at this. Her ability to ‘move slowly through the crowd’ even in the midst of a chaotic Sunday Morning of kids ministry is a constant motivation to remember, “It is about people”

  3. I am a walk slowly through the hall person. I love meeting and talking with people. They are fascinating to me and have wonderful stories about themselves that they don’t broadcast. Love hearing the stories that make them who they are.

  4. This is a challenge for me because I am, like you, a woman on a mission. However, I’m trying to convert to a walk slowly through the hall person. It takes great intention on my part, but I’m getting better. Thanks for the encouragement! =)

    • Don’t give up. I’m not. It helps me to be well prepared and organized so that I am not running around at the last minute taking care of stuff. When the people arrive….I try to take a deep breath and chill out.

  5. Love the clear distinction. I’m a walk slowly through the halls wannabe :). I’ll be praying more attention this week.

Leave a comment